GyeoyungbokGung: Korean Royal Palace

Chuseok (Korean equivalent of Thanksgiving) is one of the major national holidays celebrated in South Korea. While I stayed in Canada it didn’t mean much, but since I revisited my home country after 13 years it was a wonderful opportunity to reunite with my relatives in Seoul.

Right after the day of Chuseok, I decided to pay a visit to several historic sites around the city. Gyeoyungbokgung is one of my dream destinations but I have never had a chance to pay a proper visit to the place until now.

For the Chuseok holiday, the place offers free entry to the visitors in Han-bok, Korean traditional costume, but I had to line up for about 20 minutes to get the pass.

Here’s a brief introduction to the site written on the ticket:

In 1395, three years after the founding of the Joseon Dynasty by King Taejo (Yi Seong-gye), the new main palace, Gyeongbokgung was completed after the capital of the new dynasty was moved from Gaegyeong to Seoul (then known as Hanyang). The palace was destroyed by fire during the Japanese invasion of 1592 and was not reconstructed until 1867, the fifth year of King Gojong. During the Japanese occupation from 1910 to 1945, most of the palace was torn down; only a few buildings including Gyeonghoeru Pavilion and Geunjeongjeon Hall were left standing. An effort to fully restore Gyeongbokgung Palace to its former glory has been ongoing since 1990.

9-20 020

9-20 022

9-20 028

Geunjeongjun, the Throne Hall.

So freakin’ crowded!!

9-20 031

Sajeongjeon, the Reception Hall

9-20 035 9-20 036 9-20 039 9-20 041

Gangnyeongjeon and Gyotaejeon, the King and Queen’s Bedchambers. I didn’t know they were just behind the Throne Hall and Reception Hall.

The Queen must know the king’s every move if her bedroom was that close to his working space.

9-20 0489-20 0499-20 056

Hyangwonjeong, The King’s Garden

My favourite

9-20 0669-20 072

Gyeonghoeru, the King’s Party Hall (my translation;;)

One of the most well-known constructions in the palace. Please pardon my rough photograph…

You should reserve 24 hours earlier in order to get entry to the hall.

I was only happy with the gorgeous external sight.

9-20 074

With my company, my first uncle!

Leave a comment

Filed under Outdoors

Leave a Reply

