My favourite J-POP artist – Kuraki Mai

[DHR-Raws][Live][Mai Kuraki Live Tour 2012 OVER THE RAINBOW][HDTV][720P][AVC_Hi10P_AAC].mkv_001599797 [DHR-Raws][Live][Mai Kuraki Live Tour 2012 OVER THE RAINBOW][HDTV][720P][AVC_Hi10P_AAC].mkv_001056121 [DHR-Raws][Live][Mai Kuraki Live Tour 2012 OVER THE RAINBOW][HDTV][720P][AVC_Hi10P_AAC].mkv_001064463

I would love to introduce my favourite J-Pop artist. For the last decade, I listened to nothing but Japanese pop music, mostly solo female artists (Hamasaki Ayumi, Koda Kumi, Aiuchi Rina, Utada Hikaru, to name a few) who have been the major piece of Jpop market. After 2010, many of these artists have lost their oversea fans, including myself, mostly due to the recent recession of the market.

There is none other Jpop artists left to grab my eyes than this lovely-faced Kuraki Mai. Quick bio: she debuted in 1999 in Japan with the hit single Love, Day After Tomorrow and has released 40 singles, 10 studio albums and 3 compilations so far. She holds the record of having all singles consecutively debut in top 10 in Oricon Chart.

What keeps me to her? Year after year, she appears in public with even better songs and newly polished images. This is unseen in other artists who have used up their public personas and lost all their past glamour. With her deep affection for South Korea, she has performed her solo concert back in 2009. She has come to the land several times after that, notably last year at the Yeosu Expo.

A natural introvert under pretty much closed-up policy of her agency, she had not appeared in TV for 10 years until 2009 when she celebrated her 10th anniversary with her eighth album Touch Me! and second best album All The Best.  This was the year her long-lost popularity was revived, much to my happiness. I loved to see her in the major TV music programs and annual music festivals. Every year she conducts live tour in which she remarkably improved her command at stage.

I have included several images from her 2013 live tour “Over the Rainbow” titled after her 10th studio album. She has recently concluded her live tour for this year ‘Live Tour Project 2013 RE:’. I have no idea what she’s being up to these days. I would very much love to sea her new song or new album being released soon. I absolutely looooooooved her 39th single ‘恋に恋して(Koi ni Koishite)’ and have it in her album CD, as I always did with my favourite songs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

