My Holiday with an Assassin’s Creed game

For the past three years, I have enjoyed a wonderful way to spend my end-of-year holiday with the awesomeness of the Assassin’s Creed video games that have been released faithfully in each year since 2009. From the critically acclaimed Assassin’s Creed 2, I have been among the ones who would wait in the line to get the first copy of the new game of the series that has grown into a global franchise. But spending my holiday with the game does not make me a common video game addict like one of your brother’s friends. Let me tell you, Assassin’s Creed is the only video game I play in the entire year, and I am glad I have found the joy in something other than clinging to some kind of a careless man who never knows how to please me.

I am very much into history, so that explains a great deal about my love for the games. I just cannot resist any medium that features a faithful medievality in it. To tell you the truth, I never played the first Assassin’s Creed game, that took place in the Crusade, after a disappointing review. But I did grabbed the chance to play the second Assassin’s Creed, the first one that features Ezio Auditore de Firenze, arguably the most charismatic Assassin in the whole series. I rolled my eyes at the glittering and breathing Renaissance cities of Florence, Venice and Rome they relived in the screen. The Renaissance is always a fascinating historical period to visit, either visually or scholastically. Of course it’s vain to debate about the historical accuracy of the game but it was just amazing to run through the medieval cities the gamemakers revived with amazing details. Since then, I have seized any sequel that was available, including the Brotherhood (2010) and Revelation (2011).

With so much anticipation, Assassin’s Creed 3 was released last November. From what I heard, the new game is not as sensational as the last ones (especially the Brotherhood that is said to be the peak of the series), but it is likeliest that I will be spending my 2012 holiday just like I did in the past three years. I already bought a copy for 49.99 and am waiting for my brother to bring the console. Yes, I am totally at the mercy of my brother who claims the ownership of the console.. (poor me) Though AC is an amazing series, I have felt a few pitfalls in terms of the narrative, which is understandable for it’s just a ‘game’ not a ‘book.’ They are making a movie with Michael Fassbander, which I am looking forward to, but not expecting much from it.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

