Books I want to re-read

Well, in order to make things better for my project of “reviewing 100 classics,” I may have to revisit some of the titles I have read in the past, particularly during high school.

1. Brave New World by Aldus Huxley

Maybe  Brave New World was the only novel I studied in high school with a certain level of appreciation. I was strongly attracted the asocial, insecure character of Bernard Marx more than the remarkably innovative futuristic setting. I’ll be discussing in depth about my infatuation with Bernard after this re-read.

2. Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery

I have already read this novel for more than hundreds times but my recent visit to Prince Edward Island and the musical I saw there as part of the Charlottetown Festival rekindled my old fascination with Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe. Maybe I will be reading one of its sequels most worth reading, because many of them aren’t.

3. Demian by Hermann Hesse

When I read Demain for the first time, I was overcome with pride that I was finally matured enough to follow Hesse’s narration, after unsuccessfully trying this profound classic in my teens. I concluded that one must reach at least 20 in order to fully appreciate Demian and other novels by Hermann Hesse, who loved to discuss the inner struggles of a growing young man.

4. Catcher In the Rye by J.D. Salinger

My first read of Catcher In the Rye was more like sweeping through the plot, so I didn’t much pay attention to the interior part of the novel. After a re-read, I’ll dedicate a post on the comparison between Holden and Sinclair in Demian in their common sense of confusion and defiance.

5. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

The upcoming film by Peter Jackson is probably the biggest stimulation for me to re-read the novel I studied in my 10th grade. In any rate I would like to review The Hobbit before seeing the movie this winter. It’ll be a nicer way to start Tolkien than the bulky Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

