The Louvre: mythical figures I

Since the last posting about my favourite paintings at the Louvre, I thought that it was impossible to contain all of my experience in the world’s largest museum just in that one single post. I took pictures of almost every artwork I could recognize, some of them more than once. Most of the delightful paintings and sculptures sprang from the Greek Mythology, which I had been hugely infatuated ever since I could read. Reading the heavenly ventures of Zeus, Aphrodite, Artemis, and Eros inspired me with so much imagination and romance that could not be found in any other literature.

My love for myths and legends added so much pleasure in my visit to the Louvre, for I could identify so many artworks that didn’t have detailed commentaries or labels on them.

Here are some of the most celebrated marble treasures in the Louvre.

The Daru staircase to the famous Winged Victory of Samothrace. You could easily tell which season this photo was taken by just discerning the crowd.

The headless figure is Nike, the Greek goddess of strength, speed and victory. The fame of this sculpture almost makes you forget its significant damages that are now believed to enhance the artwork’s depiction of the supernatural.

Diana (Artemis in Greek) is the goddess of moon, hunting, and childbirth and one of the few goddesses who swore never to marry along with Athena (Minerva) and Hestia (Vesta). As an unromantic deity, her mythical tales usually involve punishing men and women who failed to protect virginity.

Hermaphroditus has the physical details of both man and woman. He was born a child of Aphrodite and Hermes and became bisexual after uniting with Salmacis, a water nymph. I should grab Ovid’s Metamorphoses to see more about the mysterious tale!

Charites, known as the Three Graces are goddesses of charm, beauty and creativity. Their names are as beautiful as their forms: Aglaea (“Splendor”), Euphrosyne (“Mirth”), and Thalia (“Good Cheer”).

Venus de Milo. You are familiar with this armless marble as a result of the French propaganda effort to promote the statue still in their possession was greater than the ones that were lost to other nations, for example, the Medici Venus that was returned to Italy shortly after its seizure.

Psyche Revived by Cupid’s Kiss by Antonio Canova. Maybe it’s the only statue I saw there that has the name of its creator. Any artwork that is based on the tale of Cupid and Psyche is stunningly romantic, as I saw in the paintings also.

Click here to see more of my travel posts  !!

1 Comment

Filed under General, Outdoors

One response to “The Louvre: mythical figures I

  1. Pingback: The Louvre: mythical figures II | happylifelog

Leave a Reply

