Artistry in Paris: Musée d’Orsay

In front of one of the most expansive paintings in the world: “Bal du moulin de la Galette (1876)” by Pierre-Auguste Renoir

Who else could come up with the idea of transforming a mechanical railway station into one of the finest galleries in the world, aside from the art-loving Parisians? My travelling company grumbled on visiting another museum, but Musée d’Orsay is definitely a must-visit destination along with the Louvre. While my camera had been taken away, I happily browsed the collection of impressionist and post-impressionist paintings from 1848 to 1915 by painters such as Monet, Manet, Renoir, Degas, Cézanne, Millet, Moreau and many more. Unfortunately I was denied access to the chamber that kept Van Gogh due to reconstruction… 😦

Below are some of the masterpieces that made my visit to the Orsay unforgettable.

I was delighted to see the real “The Fifer (1866)” by Manet, the famous painting I used to see from my classical music set. I was just amazed by the artist’s ability to depict the simple subject with such vitality, vivacity and vividness.

In the art history of almost every part in the world, there have been always a name of notable painter who focused on the simple and humble life of peasantry. “The Angelus (1857-59)” by Jean-François Millet awakened the piety that I have forgotten for a while.

“Birth of Venus(1863)” by Alexandre Cabanel. The mythical depictions of Venus are always pregnant with sensuous romance.

“Dance in the City (1883)” by Renoir. I don’t know why this painting captured my heart, other than the purity of the moment depicted here. The man’s face is hidden , so the viewer could only glimpse the shy but happy feelings of the lady who softly leaned her blushed cheek on his shoulder.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

