My Inspirational People #3: J.K. Rowling

To become a worldly famed writer has been my childhood dream. I strongly feels a sense of duty to continue it into my adulthood… I’m currently taking a series of creative writing courses towards a certification. I’m working to do something that will not take too much of my time and energy from my real passion in reading and writing. To me, yearly increase in my age has one benefit of understanding more literature.

The dramatic success story of J.K. Rowling was ever so enchanting to me before I even began to read Harry Potter. Ms. Rowling is a remarkable human being not just because she is one of the richest women in the world but because of her modesty and personal integrity that have not been affected by her worldly success or wealth. When asked about the favourite thing she bought with her money, Jo answered:

Probably the very best thing my earnings have given me is absense of worry. I have not forgotten what it feels like to worry whether you’ll have enough to pay the bills. Not to have to think about that any more is the biggest luxury in the world.

The Most Influential Woman in Britain, the 12th Richest Woman in the UK and the 48th Most Powerful Celebrity with a net worth of US $ 1 billion seems to have a simple and humble definition of ‘luxury’ from her life experience in which it was  not very advanced from the plain state of ‘absence of worry’. Even after she got successful and rich, she remembers and embraces every moment that led her into where she is, no matter how painful and difficult it was. As her ardent fan who read nearly everything that is known about her, I feel that she is not much changed from the poor mother who had nothing but her infant daughter, a cup of coffee and all the time to bring out her fantasies into the paper. Even if she had no money to pay her bills, she definitely had the leisure to indulge in her imagination and bring it out to the world. I think it was what made her the richest person in the world.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, General

One response to “My Inspirational People #3: J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

