A quick review on Britney Spears’ new album “Femme Fatale”

Ah, I have to admit that writing on music is more difficult than writing on books and films. I do enjoy music but I was never free from the feeling that it belongs to a different territory. I listen to a variety of music, from Japanese pop to classical music, which I can hardly define for myself. I just listen to them because they are good… what else can be said?

Although I used to claim to be a huge fan of Britney Spears, I never had anything to add to what everyone says about her and her music. It was somewhat difficult to find a genuine sense of musicality in her public image as a teenage pop star. In the recent three albums spawned at the time of her troublesome marriage and afterwards (Blackout, Circus, Femme Fatale), I got the impression that those products do not really belong to her but to her producers.

I loved Blackout and enjoyed Circus, but it has become a bit tiresome to listen to Femme Fatale unstoppably to the end. All 16 tracks were heard like one lengthy song with unreserved electricity, with no ‘story’ or ‘meaning’ behind each individual track chemically interacting with the ‘whole theme (if there is one)’ of the album as a one piece of art. The title and the jacket say the producers want to relive the superstar persona of Britney Spears, but an original fan like myself does not feel the same from her.

That doesn’t mean I regret to have bought this album. I loved ‘Til the World Ends’ and ‘Holding It Against Me,’ the two co-existing leading tracks in ‘Femme Fatale.’  This interesting chemistry between two consecutive tracks prevail in the album, like ‘I Wanna Go’ and ‘How I Roll.’ I strongly wish the next single will be either of the two songs.

In order to write a serious review on Britney Spears, I have to redefine what she really means to me. If all that she used to represent belong to the past decade, why do I still listen to Britney Spears?

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Music

Leave a Reply

