A mumbling on the 2011 Oscar nominees for Best Picture

Below are the 2011 Oscar nominations for Best Picture (images from Oscar.com):

Black Swan

The Fighter

Inception

The Kids Are All Right

The King’s Speech

127 Hours

The Social Network

Toy Story 3

True Grit

Winter’s Bone

Among these I have seen only five: Black Swan, Inception, The King’s Speech, 127 Hours, and The Social Network. I have yet to see The Fighter, Toy Story 3, and Winter’s Bone. I am waiting for another motivation aside from their simple label as an ‘Oscar nominated for Best Picture.’

I am personally going for The King’s Speech but I can’t defy an odd feeling towards The Social Network. I did not enjoy the movie more than I expected (maybe because I was not a very big fan of Mark Zuckerburg), but I was simply overwhelmed by how well it did at the series of major awards prior to the Oscars. After seeing the film months ago, I couldn’t get away from the feeling that it was really intended for some millions of Facebook lovers, which did not include me.
I admit The Social Network is well directed, well-written and well-acted, but I simply cannot laud the movie solely for its subject matter. When it continued its series of triumphs, I thought those middle-aged film professionals who give awards probably had not experienced the true nature of the social network as much as their children… 😦

My personal favourites among these nominees are 127 Hours and Black Swan. I can hardly decide between the two. 127 Hours is wonderfully acted (James Franco), brilliantly directed (Danny Boyle) and beautifully scored(A.R. Rahman). I was impressed at how touchingly the filmmakers revive the reality of the remarkable true story that has been well-known since its publicization in 2003.

Natalie Portman did wonderfully in Black Swan; though I doubt if she was unanimously perfect for Nina Sayers, a role that must have been coveted by many unknown actresses. Had Black Swan also marked a birth of another star, it should have been more memorable than it is.

So… It’s now five days away. My zeal for the annual Oscars has diminished somewhat for this year, but I surely will not miss the fun.

Leave a comment

Filed under Films

Leave a Reply

